The Kerala Catholic Bishops’ Conference elected its new office bearers on 6 December 2016 at Pastoral Orientation Centre, Palarivattom.

His Grace Most Rev. Dr Soosai Pakiam, Archbishop of Latin Archdiocese of Trivandrum was elected as the new President of KCBC. He is succeeding His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis Catholicos who served as the President until the new election.

The plenary assembly of the bishops also elected His Excellency Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom, the bishop of Pathanamthitta as the new Vice-President and His Grace Mar Mathew Moolakkatt, Archbishop of Kottayam as the new Secretary General.

The following members are elected as the new chairmen for the various commissions of KCBC.

  • Bishop Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom(Pathanamthitta) – Religious Commission Bishop
  • Abraham Mar Julios (Muvattupuzha) – Bible Commission
  • Bishop Sebastian Thekethecheril (Vijayapuram) – Media Commission
  • Bishop Mar Sebastian Adayanthrath (Ernakulam) – Family Commission
  • Bishop Joshua Mar Ignathios (Mavelikara) – Laity, Social Harmony and Vigilance
  • Bishop Joseph Karikkassery (Kottapuram) – Women’s Commission
  • Archbishop Andrews Thazhath (Thrissur) –Education Commission
  • Bishop Joseph Mar Thomas (Bathery) – Youth Commission
  • Bishop Alex Vadakumthala (Kannur) – Labour Commission
  • Archbishop Thomas Mar Koorilos (Tiruvalla) – Justice Peace and Dialogue
  • Bishop Jacob Muricken (Palai) -SC/ST/BC
  • Bishop Remigius Inchananiyil (Thamarasserry) –Temperance
  • Bishop Varghese Chakkalakal (Calicut) – Theology
  • Archbishop George Njaralakatt (Tellicherry) – Health
  • Bishop Vincent Samuel (Neyyattinkara) – Vocation
  • Bishop Samuel Mar Irenios (Trivandrum) – Charismatic
  • Bishop Selvister Ponnumuthan (Punalur) – Ecumenism and Dialogue.

Congratulations to Our Dear Aboon Most Rev. Dr. Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom

KCBC presidential election 2016
Mar Baselios’ address during the KCBC Meeting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here